Art Show

I was recently offered a commission by a woman who ran into my work on the FB artist page for my city. Well not really, it’s going to be a exhibition which will include other local artists. 

For those of you who don’t know what a comission is, it’s when an artist is given the monetary funds to create an art show.
She was impressed with my work and wants me and other local artists to exhibit in her gallery. She also asked if I would be interested in teaching a painting class once a month.
I’m pretty excited because the last time I was featured in an art show was when I was a participant in the student exhibits shows back in college. As for the teaching a painting class that should be pretty easy for me because I’m a Paraprofessional for one of the local elementary schools.
I told my sister about it and she was excited for me. She also said it would be wise of me to embrace the “Disabled Latina Artist”  label.
To be perfectly honest I hate the word Latina because it lumps in everybody that is of Hispanic decent into one chatagory and is believed to have been born in Latin America with the exception of the Spaniards which are considered Iberians. I was born in the United States also I don’t like to use my disability as a catalyst to get where I need to be because I don’t want to be known as a disabled artist. I want to be known as a female artist who creates beautiful pieces whom just happens to have a physical disability. But unfortunately she may be right. I just may have to embrace that label. As you all know I’m a horrible writer so she also offered to help me put my artist profile together. 
I can’t wait. It’s supposed to take place sometime in March. I’m hoping to have something new by then.

Leave a Reply

