Tacos

I was watching a DIY show this morning as I was having breakfast. The host and a guest were making vegan street tacos with eggplant. I’m not a vegetarian or vegan but since I have a lot of food allergies I’ll endulge in a vegan meal every once in a while and since I’m Catholic more so during lent. I’m highly allergic to fish, but I digress. 

They were making street tacos with corn tortillas but didn’t bother to heat it first. I notice alot of people don’t heat tortillas before consuming them, especially corn.

Corn tortillas have to be heated before consumption or they will fall apart in your hands. It is not a good idea to heat them in the microwave either because you might as well be eating a taco on a piece of poster board. The best thing to do is heat it over an open flame carefully or get a cast iron hot plate (comal) put it on medium heat and heat it that way, otherwise; don’t bother eating tacos with corn tortillas. Flour tortillas do better in a microwave than corn.

Leave a Reply

