Story: The guy

Yesterday I was sitting in the sun getting my daily dose of vitamin D, minding my own business when this guy on a bike comes racing up to me and informs me of a child who had just been hit with a car. 

He seemed distraught and in a panic, so I naturally assumed it had just happened. I asked him where it had happened and if the little boy was still alive. He says, “Oh, I don’t know. It happened this afternoon… about one o’clock.” 

He stays and talks for a while. He was a 30 – yr-old, short, fairly handsome kid. He was wearing a cap, sun glasses, a green faded t-shirt, an old pair of jeans and worn out tennis shoes with a backpack. He was dirty, sweaty and hungry. He seemed sad and exhausted. I asked him if he was okay and if he needed anything. He smiles softly then says “no thank you.” 

He then begins by saying his identity had been stolen not too long ago and how we are wasteful humans ” we should be recycling more.” He rambles on about wood recycling stops which I had never heard of before. But as he was talking he was holding what looked like a torn bicycle tube but I think it was something else because it had electrical innereds. 

He came a little closer, stuck his hand out and introduced himself and me being the germaphobe that I am pulled away, smiled and said “nice to meet you.” I ask him if he lived here in this apartment complex and he says “No, but I use to.” Then I take a big risk and ask him if he was homeless. He smiles sardonicly and says “kind of, sort of, but not really.” I give him a perplexing glance but didn’t “go there.”

He rambles on about how his father taught him to be a hard worker and how he made sure he never went hungry. I asked him if he grew up here to which he responded “yeah.” He goes on about how this use to be a beautiful, clean town “BUT NOW IT’S FILLED WITH TRASH!” He says with anger and frustration.

He finishes his story, smiles and bids me a good evening. As I observed his body language it seems as though he just needed to vent. So I sat and listened to this total stranger. 

As we both exited I notice he enters one of the buildings in the complex.

The next day as I was sitting in the sun once again minding my business one of my neighbors says.”You know that dude you were talking to yesterday?” I say “yeah?” He says. “Well, he was tresspassing.”

 

Leave a Reply

