Falling

I fell out of my wheelchair one day but it was all my fault because I wasn’t watching what I was doing.
It’s not the first time I’ve fallen out of my wheelchair. It’s happened before, on a short “walk” going down hill, my chair gained speed and it literally threw out.
I was on my way to work. It was very early in the morning when it happened and at the most inconvenient time of day, but when is 6:30 a.m. ever a convenience…and on aMonday, UGH! I was already short on time. I had piled my things on my laps; keys-check,wallet-check, badge-check, lunch-check, blanket-check everything was here.
My commute was waiting for me. She honked to let me know she had arrived. I was wheeling out backwards and I must have miscalculated the distance between my arm and reaching for the door to close it when all of a sudden I felt myself tip over. Unfortunately my chair doesn’t have safety features. You know those little tiny upside down horns with the teeny tiny wheels at the ends that keep a wheelchair from falling over backwards? Yeah, my chair doesn’t have any and I’ve been trying to get them put on for about 4 years now but every time I start the process red tape seems to get in the way.
For those of you who are not familiar with red tape it’s the bureaucracy that I have to go through in order to get clearance from the government for my medical supplies or any medical equipment I may require such as wheelchairs, crutches etc.etc. replaced or renewed in order to survive (thanks fraudulent claims I really didn’t need a brand new pair of crutches anyway.)
I wasn’t scared or didn’t break any limbs and the only thing hurt was my ego. I’ve fallen before but rarely out of my chair. It’s a good thing it happened when no one was around. I was kind of embarrassed. I gathered myself and called my commute to let her know of my situation. She asked if I was okay ,if I needed help and to take my time coming out we were in no hurry to leave because we were great on timing. Since I have excellent upper body strength I was able to physically gather myself and “walk out” as quickly as possible so as not to be late for work.
On my way to work I made sure I hadn’t bruised or broken anything. I’ve fallen before and broken my leg but didn’t know it until I’d gotten home; it was a very traumatic experience so now every time I fall I check to make sure nothing is broken. Next time I’ll just have to do better with my time and make a more accurate calculation between my arm and the doorknob. May be even get the government to finally put the safety features on my wheelchair.

Leave a Reply

