Men Say the Darnest things.

AWWW men, the most beautiful creatures alive. They look good, they smell good and at times they even ta……never mind. A man doesn’t worry about what he looks like when he walks out the door, isn’t focused on his weight most of the time, will rarely watch what he eats and doesn’t slather himself with paint in order to attract attention. He doesn’t use torture devices to remove unwanted hair such as wax and tweezers or the brand new trend….string. Most men will not surgically enhance themselves to please the world they just let it all hangout with great confidence. They have a natural beauty all their own. A man has a way of expressing himself out loud without a care in the world. His brutal honesty is what makes him the most beautiful creature on earth and sometimes get him into major trouble. Which brings me to my next little venture. The year was 2004  Nelly’s single Hot in Here had just debuted. This was on a night that I wasn’t using my wheelchair and I was out with my girlfriends. We were out about enjoying ourselves,getting an early start celebrating the weekend. We were in a club drinking and dancing having a great times when out of the crowd emerged a cute little guy, they’re funny. He was quite nervous. I could tell because he gave a shy smile and gave me very little eye contact. He was quite pleasant until he asked me this one simple question. People are always curious about my disability especially men. I don’t mind questions I really don’t. Questions are what educate people. There is no question I will not answer especially if it’s a need to know basis. This little guy was brave because without blinking an eye he asked me something I had never been asked before…. at least not in these words. His exact words were “Do you work?” and I answer him “Oh yes I have a job.” and I look at him like what do you mean. His little eyes dropped to my midsection and then he looks at me with great excitement and then proceeds again “NO I MEAN DO YOU WORK?” My jaw dropped to the ground because I couldn’t believe what he had just asked me.He gave me a weak, pathetic smile and had disappeared back into the crowd. That was a great night.

Leave a Reply

