Ignorance

I was in my wheelchair on this fine Sunday afternoon. The weather was nice. Not too hot and not too cold.
I was in a grocery store to get some stuff that I probably didn’t need and I wasn’t planning on staying too long. I’m one of these in and out types. You know, go in get stuff and get out. I was at the check out line when this man comes up to me and asks me if I would like him to carry my stuff out to my car; I smile and politely say “no thanks I got it.” Well he took it as an insult and says ” Okay….Take care of yourself.” He pauses and then says. ” if you can.” And then I turn to him and say “I hope I can I’ve been doing it for 40 years.”

Leave a Reply

